WOODSMOKE REDUCTION PROGRAM c,v““& 3 )
VOUCHER APPLICATION FORM ‘ﬁ‘

HOW THE VOUCHER PROGRAM WORKS

1.

The Tuolumne County Air Pollution Control District is offering vouchers to replace non-EPA certified wood
stoves, fireplace inserts, or open-hearth fireplaces used as a primary source of heat with new, cleaner
burning devices. The new device may be an EPA certified woodstove or insert, a natural gas or propane
heating device, or an electric heating device.

Applications for rebate vouchers will be accepted until project dollars are depleted. Please include a photo
of the currently installed older stove, fireplace insert, or fireplace. The completed applications must be
signed by the homeowner (and tenant if applicable) and submitted to the District.

The Standard Voucher is valued at $1,000. Please be aware that the Standard Voucher amount will not
cover the entire cost of the new EPA certified device, installation, required permits and any code upgrades
that may be required.

The Enhanced Voucher is valued at up to $3,500. Applicants are eligible for an Enhanced Voucher if the
project is in a Low Income or Disadvantaged Community*, if the applicant participates in a Low Income
program (WIC, CARE, LIHEAP), or if the household income is below $49,454. The applicant can bring
supporting documents for District review when submitting the application.

The program is available to both homeowners and tenants. In the case of rental properties, formal approval
from the property owner will be required as part of the Application

The applicant may redeem the voucher from participating retailers only. The voucher must be redeemed
within four (4) weeks from the date of issuance. The voucher expiration date may be extended at the
discretion of the District. Standard Vouchers will be applied as an instant rebate off the total price of the
stove. The applicant will schedule an in-home estimate with a participating retailer. The retailer will verify
the stove’s eligibility and present an estimate to the Applicant. No retroactive rebates are allowed.

New devices must be professionally installed by a licensed installer in accordance with local fire and
building codes. A building permit must be obtained prior to installation of the new device if required by the
city or county building department. No do-it-yourself installations are allowed under this program.
Installations must occur within ninety (90) days of voucher redemption. The installation expiration date may
be extended at the discretion of the District.

Older stoves that were replaced through the program must be permanently removed from service and
surrendered to the participating retailer, who will render them inoperable and coordinate their disposal and
recycling. The participating retailer will take a photo of the older stove prior to removing it and upon its
destruction, and will also take a photo of the replacement stove after it is installed.

Participating retailers and/or their licensed installers will provide training on proper wood storage and wood
burning practices (if applicable) and device operation and maintenance.

This voucher program was supported by the California Climate Investments (CCI) Program. This voucher
program is subject to state requirements and agreements with the California Air Resources Board (CARB)
and the California Air Pollution Control Officer’s Association (CAPCOA).

HOW TO APPLY

! https://www.arb.ca.gov/cc/capandtrade/auctionproceeds/lowincomemapfull.htm
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All sections of the Voucher Application Form (pages 3 and 4) must be completed. A copy should be retained by
the Applicant for his or her records. The voucher program is not responsible for materials lost by mail. Please
review the program terms prior to signing below. Submit your completed application with attachments by
email, mail, or hand delivery (see below).

Air District

Mailing Address

City, ZIP

Physical Address

Email

Tuolumne County APCD

2 South Green St.

Sonora, 95370

22365 S. Airport, Sonora

AirPollution@tuolumnecounty.ca.gov

Participating Retailer Address City, ZIP Phone #
Billings Stove & 21245 Longeway | Sonora, 95370 | 586-3740
Sheet Metal Road

Foothill Fireplace 18677 Eagle Sonora, 95370 | 533-5005
Pool & Spa Ridge Road

Hibernation Home and 14697 Mono Way | Sonora, 95370 | 533-2211
Hearth

WCS Winters Cleaning 14235 Tuolumne | Sonora, 95370 | 532-5700

Service

Road
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VOUCHER APPLICATION FORM

Applicant Information:

Name:

Physical Home Address:

Mailing Address (if different):

Phone Number: Email (if available):

Existing Wood Burning Device:

Make/Model: Year Manufactured/Age:

1 Thave included a photograph of my old device to be replaced

My old device is a (check one): [0 Non-certified freestanding woodstove
(1 Non-certified woodstove insert
(1 Open hearth fireplace**
** Open hearth fireplaces require additional documentation. Please contact the District.

New device to be installed (check one): [0 EPA certified woodstove/insert
(1 Natural gas 1 Propane  [1 Electric
Incentive Level:
1 Standard Incentive: $1,000
1 Enhanced Incentive: up to $3,500 (indicate qualification below — backup documentation required)
1 Located in a Low Income or Disadvantaged Community (see link to map on page 1)
(1 Proof of participation in a federal or state income assistance program (WIC, CARE, LIHEAP)
1 Household income less than $49,454 annually

Additional Information:
1. How did you hear about the Program?

2. Why are you applying? (Please check all that apply.)
(1 Not satisfied with current device
[J To reduce pollution
[] To save money
(] Other:
3. Was the rebate a significant factor in replacing your stove? [ Yes[] No
In a typical heating season, how many cords of wood do you typically burn?
5. Is your current device used as a PRIMARY source of heat (>50% winter use)? [1 Yes [ No

>
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VOUCHER APPLICATION FORM (continued)

APPLICANT CERTIFICATION:

I certify the following:

a.

b.
C.

Applicant/Owner Name (Print):

Applicant/Owner Signature:

Date:

I understand that only a currently installed and operating non-EPA certified wood burning devices used as a
primary source of heat is eligible to be replaced under this program.

I understand that participants are limited to receiving one rebate voucher per address.

I understand that applications are processed in the order they are received. Rebates will be distributed on a
first-come, first-served basis. Funding is limited; rebates are not guaranteed. The voucher will only be valid
for four (4) weeks from the date of its issuance. No retroactive rebates are available. Voucher expiration date
may be extended at the discretion of the District.

I understand that applications may only be accepted for devices located in Tuolumne County.

I understand that if | qualify, I will receive a voucher and a current list of participating retailers who will
honor the voucher if it is submitted by the expiration date written on the voucher.

The participating retailer who installs the new device is responsible for properly dismantling and disposing
of the old device.

If I choose to replace a device with funds from this program, | will make a commitment to purchase a device
from a participating retailer within the four (4) week period and authorize the retailer to forward to the
District a notification of the purchase agreement, with verification that my existing wood burning device is
not EPA-certified.

I understand that devices purchased with funds from this program will be professionally installed by a
licensed installer and that there may be additional costs for installation including a permit from my
community for installation. Installations must comply with all local fire and building codes. The installation
must be coordinated and certified by the participating retailer and must be completed within ninety (90) days
of redeeming the voucher. Installation expiration date may be extended at the discretion of the District.

I understand that I am responsible to pay the retailer for the purchase price of my new device, less the
voucher amount.

I understand that I will forfeit my voucher if | provide the District with false information or fail to obtain any
required permit or if the required information is not submitted to the District prior to the expiration date
listed on the voucher.

The District does not warranty any devices purchased under this voucher program, including, but not limited
to, the quality or functionality of the device.

I understand that proper wood burning practices (e.g., burning only dry, seasoned wood) and proper stove
installation and operation (e.g., maintaining a hot fire) are critical to the effectiveness of my new device. |
further agree to receive training on proper wood storage and wood burning practices (if applicable) and
device operation and maintenance from the participating retailer or installer.

I understand that the District, CAPCOA, and the State of California may inspect all work and associated
records with 30-day advanced notice.

Applications will be treated in accordance with Public Records Act requirements. Certain information,
subject to those requirements, may be publicly disclosed.




