TUOLUMNE COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE

“Serving with Professionalism and Pride” Bill Pooley

Sheriff-Coroner

CCW INITIAL APPLICANT PROCEDURE

Introduction
This information sheet is for persons desiring to obtain a permit to carry a concealed pistol, revolver
or other firearm. The issuance of a Concealed Weapons Permit is governed by California Penal
Code Section 12050.

Concealed Weapons Permit
The Sheriff may issue a Concealed Weapons Permit under the following Conditions:

e The Applicant is a resident of the County
e The Applicant is of good moral character
e The Applicant has good cause for carrying a concealed weapon

Departmental Restrictions on Issuance of a Permit
¢ Residence in the County for less than 1 year (There are some exceptions for employment in the
County)

¢ Subject of a Restraining Order issued by any Court

e Conviction of driving under the influence of drugs/alcohol within the past 5 years

e Conviction of a felony

e Conviction of a misdemeanor offence which renders one unlawful to possess a firearm under
Penal Code Section 12021

e Conviction of a drug offense under the Health and Safety Code within the past 5 years

¢ Other cause to question residency, insufficient cause for carry a concealed weapon, or suitability
of carrying a concealed weapon.

Procedure for Obtaining a Concealed Weapons Permit
All applications for Carrying Concealed Weapon permits are now submitted and processed through
Permitium at the following web address:

https://tuolumneca.permitium.com/ccw/start

e Make sure to choose the INITIAL application and not the Renewal application (Different fees
apply, and you will have to restart your application). Initial fees are $131.39 and must be paid by
credit card on Permitium

e Up to 3 firearms are allowed — You must add every firearm into the application that you want to
have on the permit. All firearms must be registered to you and at your current address - the only
exception is if married you may put your spouse's firearm on your permit.
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e If your firearms are registered to you or your spouse but not at your current address, you will need
to update your firearms registration with the Department of Justice. You can update your
information by creating a CFARS account at the following web address:

e https://cfars.doj.ca.gov

¢ You must provide the following documentation when applying on Permitium:

o Proof of residency: Vehicle registration, insurance, property tax receipts, cellphone bill are
not proof, it must be a utility bill associated with your residence, ex: electric, rental lease or
agreement, cable, Internet, gas, water, or garbage

o California Driver's License with current address

oLive fire certificate of attending training course. You must have an 8-hour course
certificate that shows live fire proficiency for all firearms on your permit (Per AB 2103)

e Your permit will not be issued until we have received all requested documentation.

**x* After applying on Permitium: Call 209-533-5833 to make an appointment for an initial

interview****

o If approved after interview, you will be sent to get a livescan (all CCW applicants must be
livescanned regardless of any previous livescans). Fingerprint returns are sent to our agency for
review from DOJ. Based on the findings from the DOJ report, the Sheriff’s Office, will
determine the final eligibility of the applicant.

o If/when approved, you will receive an email regarding the change in status and you will pay the
second initial fee online

o Second initial fee is $125.43, this payment is also made on Permitium

e Your permit will be ready for pick-up after the second and final payment has been made. You
may call to make an appointment to pick up the permit. Office hours are M-F 8am to 3:45pm for
permits to be picked up. Bring your driver’s license for identification when picking up.

To upload any requested documentation, you will log in using your Order Number, Email Address,
and Password at the following web address:
https://tuclumneca.permitium.com/order_tracker

Keep your CCW Order number and remember your password as you will need them to access
your application for the second payment to to upload requested documentation.

If computer assistance is needed, you can go to the Sonora CSU on Wednesdays between 10am and
4pm, please call beforehand for an appointment at 209-536-9828. There will be a volunteer there to
answer questions and give you access to a computer and scanner.

For technical questions regarding the use of Permitium contact 855-642-2453 or
help@permitium.com
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Approved CCW Instructors as of January 2019

Forensic Consultant Services Jason Frye

Email: michael@forensicconsultantservices.com  Email: forenspsych@ymail.com
Phone(s): 209-795-0985 or 925-872-9764 Phone: 209-770-6283

Weapons Training School First Response Tactical

Website: Weaponstrainingschool.com Website: Firstresponsetactical.com
Phone: 209-532-6677 Phone: 209-402-3141

Bill Tidwell Rozo Tactical, LLC

Website: Train2besafe.com Website: Rozotactical.com

Phone: 209-878-3056 Phone: 209-425-0075

Email: bill@train2besafe.com
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