
Clearing the Air 
Overview of State and Local Tobacco 

Control Smoke-Free Laws 



Tobacco Education & Prevention Program 
Funded by  Prop 99 & 56 funds and working under the guidance of the 

California Tobacco Control Section of the Department of Health Services.   
 

Community 
Health 

Education 
 
- Outreach 
events 
- Workshops 
- Trainings 

Tobacco 
Cessation 

 
 
- Free support 
group classes 
- Referrals 
- Quit Kits 

Preventing 
Youth 

Access 
 
- Illegal sales to 
youth surveys 
- Youth 
advocacy 
- Youth 
targeted 
tobacco 
products 

Advocacy, 
Laws & 

Compliance 
 

- Educate about 
tobacco policy 
- Community 
mobilization 
- Business 
compliance 
checks 

Secondhand 
Smoke (SHS) 

Reduction 
 
- SHS education 
- Thirdhand 
smoke 
 



The adult smoking 
rate for Tuolumne 

County is 26% 

Tuolumne County Tobacco Consumption Survey, 2012 
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Tuolumne County Tobacco Consumption Survey, 2012 
Centers for Disease Control, MMWR, Adult Cigarette Use Rates 2005-2012 



Tobacco Consumption Survey, 2012 

• Nearly half of all households have at least 
one consumer of some form of tobacco. 

• Tobacco consumption is higher in multiple 
unit homes than other types of dwellings. 

• Tobacco use rates are slightly higher 
among those earning $30K or less. 

Tuolumne County Tobacco Consumption Survey, 2012 



Economic Burden of Chronic Disease 

• Smoking is a risk factor associated with many 
chronic diseases, particularly cardiovascular 
disease (CVD) and cancer. 
 

• Cardiovascular disease (including stroke) and 
cancer account for the majority of deaths in 
Tuolumne County. 
 

• Tuolumne ranks the highest in the state for health 
care expenditures on chronic diseases. 

Economic Burden of Chronic Disease in California, 2015, CDPH 
Tuolumne County HSHC Fact Sheet, 2012 



Economic Burden of Chronic Disease 

Tuolumne County’s total 
 health care cost in 2010:  

$216, 388, 532 

Percentage of total health care 
expenditure due to six chronic 

conditions:  

62.7% 

Economic Burden of Chronic Disease in California, 2015, CDPH 

Cancer 
6% 

Asthma 
15% 

Cardiovascular 
Disease 

37% 
Diabetes 

7% 

Arthritis 
22% 

Depression 
13% 

% of population with condition in 2010 
N=55,365 



 Smoke from burning cigarette, cigar, or pipe 
 
 Smoke exhaled through nose or mouth of a smoker  

 
 Also called Passive/Environmental smoke 
 

Secondhand Smoke (SHS) 



Hydrogen cyanide Carbon Monoxide Butane 

Ammonia Toluene 

Arsenic 

Cadmium Lead 

US Department of Health and Human Services (2008) 9 

What’s in Secondhand Smoke? 



Hydrogen cyanide Carbon Monoxide Butane 

Ammonia Toluene 

Arsenic 

Cadmium Lead 

There is NO  
risk-free level of exposure to  

tobacco smoke. 

US Department of Health and Human Services (2008) 10 

What’s in Secondhand Smoke? 



• Third-hand smoke is the left-over 
contamination in a room/car/clothing 
that persists after the cigarette is 
extinguished 

 
•  Remain on surfaces, re-emit into the 

air, react to yield secondary pollutants 

11 

Thirdhand Smoke (THS) 



Nicotine 

Nitrous 
acid/ozone 

Tobacco-specific 
nitrosamines 

Secondhan
d Smoke 

Burton (2011), Dreyfuss (2010), Tuma (2010) 

Secondhand 
Smoke 
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Thirdhand Smoke (THS) 





Tobacco Control Laws 



“The right to swing my fist 
ends where the other 
man’s nose begins.”  

- Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.  



There Is No Constitutional Right to Smoke 

• Constitutional rights to smoke have no legal basis, no court has recognized 
smoking as a protected fundamental right nor has any court found smokers to be 
a protected group of persons as smoking is not an “immutable characteristic” 
defined by the Supreme Court 
 

• Smoking is not mentioned anywhere in either constitution.  
 

• The U.S. Supreme Court has held that “only personal rights that can be deemed 
‘fundamental’ or ‘implicit in the concept of ordered liberty’ are included in the 
guarantee of personal liberty.” These rights are related to an individual’s bodily 
privacy and autonomy within the home. The privacy interest protected by the 
U.S. Constitution includes only marriage, contraception, family relationships, and 
the rearing and educating of children. Very few private acts by individuals qualify 
as fundamental privacy interests, and smoking is not one of them. 
 

• So long as a smoking regulation is rationally related to a legitimate government 
objective such as protecting public health or the environment, the regulation will 
be upheld as constitutional. 

SOURCE: 
http://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/documents/B_
ThereIsNoConstitutionalRighttoSmoke_CA_4_05.pdf  

http://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/documents/B_ThereIsNoConstitutionalRighttoSmoke_CA_4_05.pdf
http://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/documents/B_ThereIsNoConstitutionalRighttoSmoke_CA_4_05.pdf


Summary of CA State Laws & Smoking 

• No smoking in cars with minors 
 

• All public school campuses and child care 
centers are smoke-free areas at all times 
 

• No smoking within 25 feet of a playground area 
 

• Smoke-free workplaces 
 

• No smoking within 20 feet of a county owned or 
leased building 
 

http://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/2016_CA_Law_Booklet_FINAL_201611.pdf  

http://www.changelabsolutions.org/sites/default/files/2016_CA_Law_Booklet_FINAL_201611.pdf


California Labor Code Section 6404.5 

• It is against the law to smoke, including the use of 
electronic smoking devices, in an enclosed space at 
a place of employment or owner-operated business. 
No employer or owner-operated business shall 
knowingly or intentionally permit smoking in an 
enclosed space. Enclosed space includes covered 
parking lots, lobbies, lounges, waiting areas, 
elevators, stairwells, and restrooms that are a 
structural part of the building. A place of 
employment is any place where employees or 
owner-operators carry on their work. 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=LAB&sectionNum=6404.5.  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=LAB&sectionNum=6404.5


CH 8.36 
 CLEAN INDOOR AIR AND HEALTH PROTECTION ORDINANCE  

• Applies only to unincorporated Tuolumne County 
 

• The County ordinance offers protections in some 
outdoor areas including:  

 

• outdoor dining 
• outdoors sports arenas 
• some areas in multiple unit housing   

View document at: 
https://www.tuolumnecounty.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/332  

https://www.tuolumnecounty.ca.gov/DocumentCenter/View/332


CONSIDERATIONS FOR OUTDOOR DINING 
ESTABLISHMENTS IN TUOLUMNE COUNTY 

• Any outdoor dining area should be smoke-free and should have 
appropriate signage posted 

• Designated smoking areas are allowed as long as the following are met: 
– Food/beverage may NOT be served in designated smoking areas 
– Tables of designated smoking areas may not have any food/beverage service items on 

them (i.e. condiment trays, napkins, menus, etc) 
– Patrons who want to eat in the designated smoking area can do so ONLY IF they 

purchase their food/beverage and bring it to the area THEMSELVES.  
• Restaurant staff may not serve food/beverage to patrons in designated smoking 

areas, this includes re-fills, taking orders, bringing out food, etc.  

– Any violations of the aforementioned stipulations render the smoking 
area an outdoor dining area and any smoking occurring in that setting 
would be a violation of Chapter 8.36 of Tuolumne County Ordinance 
Code 



NEXT STEPS FOR YOUR ORGANIZATION 

• Voluntary adoption of smoke-free policies by an organization, including 
Housing Associations, can be aimed at mitigation of secondhand smoke 
exposure through re-designation of smoking areas, smoking boundaries, or 
100% smoke-free policy 
 

• Survey patrons of affected areas to assess public opinion on secondhand 
smoke exposure in outdoor dining  and preferences 
 

• Review proposed updates to the County Clean Air Ordinance 
 

• Advocate for better smoke-free protections in Tuolumne County  
 



1 in 4 Tuolumne County 
residents smoke, but 
that also means that  

3 in 4 don’t. 

Tuolumne County Tobacco Consumption Survey, 2012 
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